Uncategorized

Networking #1

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 2.57.18 PM

Photo taken by Alex Kitz

This photo I took of myself at an American Marketing Association meeting. I am a marketing major so this event was a perfect one for me to go to. This was the first meeting of the year and they just went over what AMA was all about and introduced us to all of the e-board and all of the marketing professors at Grand Valley. I went to a few meetings last year and there were far more people at this meeting than there ever were at any of the meetings last year. It ended up that a majority of the e-board members were people that were in my classes and I knew a lot of other people there as well.

I have continued to go to their meetings and I have even become an official member. My experience with AMA has been great so far. A couple weeks ago we took a “field trip” to Domino Farms in Ann Arbor, Michigan to take a firm tour. I think that being in this organization will help me to figure out which direction in which I want to take my career. A lot of the meetings they bring in people who have experience in marketing for large companies in the real world that offer advice on how to get your foot in the door or what employers are looking for. I think that this organization will look good on my resume and I believe that I have already gotten a lot of good advice that I can put to use in the future.

For anyone that is a marketing major or even a marketing minor, I think this is a really good organization to join. Even just attending the meetings can offer a lot of valuable information.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

